Mugabe’s ‘Goebbels’ Jonathan Moyo Returns to Parliament After Massive Vote-Buying

By Jessica Mundawarara|

Now Daily|

Zimbabwe’s equivalent of the rabid Nazi propagandist Joseph Goebbels, Jonathan Moyo, was declared the winner of the Tsholotsho North parliamentary by-election held Wednesday after splashing thousands of dollars to bribe voters, it emerged.

The discredited and allegedly biased Zimbabwe Elecoral Commission, which is run by the army and intelligence officials on behalf of dictator Robert Mugabe, handed Moyo the victory in a sham vote that was boycotted by most major political parties, including the Movement for Democratic Change.

Moyo, Mugabe’s praise-singer and propaganda minister, claimed victory with 11 695 votes against Busani Ncube’s 91 and Gertrude Sibanda’s 38.

Moyo was thrown out of Parliament after he rebelled against Mugabe, but later reconciled with the despot and was made minister and honorary MP.

In the Hurungwe West constituency, former state security minister Didymus Mutasa’s nephew and expelled Mashonaland West Zanu PF chairman Temba Mliswa was defeated by ruling party candidate Keith Guzah in elections he claims were marred by army violence and threats to villagers.

Other results:
In Makokoba Zanu-PF’s Tshinga Dube’s 3182 votes. Toan Dhlodhlo (Independent) 76,  Sibangilizwe Msipa (Independent) 473, Jonathan Ndlovu (Independent) 352 ,  Mable Ngwenya (NCA) 19 ,  Sehlelo Nkomo (Transform Zimbabwe) 38 , Peter Wilson (MKD) 80 while 66 ballots were rejected.

In Dzivarasekwa Omega Hungwe (Zanu-PF) got 3 116, Cosmas Benjamin (PDZ) 38, Ngonidzashe Chandiwana (TZ) 178, Happison Chikova (ADP) 44, Tonderai Karimakwenda (Independent) 239, Washington Measure (DARE) 16, Enock Mafigu (MKD) 31, Peter Mukuchamano (NCA) 28,  Saul Tore (Independent) 253. There were 138 rejected votes.

In Kuwadzana Betty Nhambu of Zanu-PF got 3 480, Ephraim Muza (DARE) 38, Peter Svinurai (Free Zim Congress) 142, Grant Tabvurei (NCA) 46, Michael Mandikonza (Freedom Front Party) 10, Joelson Mugari (African Democratic Part) 29, Endai Mugomeza (Independent) 222, Simon Musandu (Transform Zimbabwe) 26, Boniface Gwishiri (Independent) 113, Joseph Chimbawanga (Progressive Democrats of Zimbabwe) 30, Gemellah Chuma (PIMZ) 41 and Milton Mukuwa (Mavambo Kusile Dawn) 32.

Zanu PF’s Esau Fungai Mupfumi took the Dangamvura-Chikanga constituency with 6 376 votes, ahead of Mr Chengetai Richard Kadzere (Independent), who polled 1 092 votes. Mr Kuziva Maundike (Independent) had 707 votes while Pfugamai Mawire got 254 votes. Mr James Mundenda (Independent) had 144 votes. Mr Ruramayi Musiiwa (NCA) got 1 003 votes while Mr Piwai Gashirai (Freedom Party) had 125 votes. Maxwell Teedzai of Transform Zimbabwe party got 32 votes.

In Kambuzuma Zanu-PF’s Tinashe Maduza got 2 712, Rungerai Tapoka (Freedom Front Party) 14, Obey Chiwara,(Mavambo/Kusile/Dawn) 50, Nyasha Solomon Makwati (Progressive Democrats of Zimbabwe) 231, John Elfigio Muzhazhe (Transform Zimbabwe) 31, Tapera David Mabuwa (independent) 51, Pedzisayi Nheta (independent) 158, Taungana Madhino (independent) 65, Tendai Morris Makoni (independent) 153.

(c) Now Daily 2015. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s